Showing posts with label Relapse. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Relapse. Show all posts

Thursday, August 6, 2020

Brave (Scary) New Frontiers

 Let me catch you up before I overwhelm you with new updates...

The bronchoscopy results were not helpful. Despite having biopsied from one of the areas that had lit up on my PET scan, the biopsy taken during the bronch came back showing no cancer. The problem is, that result does not mean there's no cancer, it just means there's no cancer in that specific spot we biopsied. And all the tests run from the lavage fluid came back negative as well.

That left us with very little to go on. I went several weeks without seeing my oncologist. It was too soon for another PET scan and without any useful results from the bronch we just didn't know what direction to go. It was nice to have a little down time with no treatment. My fingernails started getting stronger and looking normal again and my hair started to grow back just the tiniest bit. 

But then some of my cancer symptoms started creeping back. I've had a low grade fever for almost 3 weeks now, which initially we thought was a cold, but have eventually admitted is probably a sign my cancer is growing again. I've also had night sweats again and have been frequently feeling worn out. Plus I've started feeling like I have pressure on my chest and it's more laborious to breathe. These things all point to a likelihood that the cancer in my lungs is growing again. 

So after conferring with Dr. Essell, we've decided we're going to try immunotherapy. I've talked about this as an option before, but always as an option that scared me. Immunotherapy will stimulate my immune system, which will hopefully cause it to kill any remaining cancer. But because of my graft vs. host (GVH) disease, it could cause my immune system to flare and attack my body. Basically, my donor immune system would not recognize my body and it would attack my body, but with extra power from us having boosted it.

Immunotherapy is the last treatment option we have that has the potential to put me in any meaningful kind of remission. If the immunotherapy fails or if my body can't handle it because the GVH, we're down to options that can't really put me in remission, that could only hopefully keep me alive a little longer.

So this treatment is double scary. Scary because it may try to kill me itself, but also scary because if it fails we've run out of life-saving options and are only left with hopefully life-prolonging options.

So things are about to get going! I'll go for a new PET scan tomorrow to establish a baseline for when we start the new treatment. I'll also get a COVID test while I'm out tomorrow because I'm scheduled for a minor surgery next week. Once my COVID test is back negative I'll go in to have (ANOTHER) port put in for treatment.

This won't be my first or my second port; it'll be my third. And that's not to mention all the lines that I've also had placed over the years. My chest is a mess and we're not entirely sure there's a place to put another port. The surgeon is going to take a look at my chest and see if there's a spot that will work, but there's a chance they'll actually have to put the port in my leg. If that's the case, it's going to make getting my treatments an interesting affair!

If everything goes smoothly, I'll be getting my first immunotherapy on Friday, August 14th. I'm really nervous about it. So please send lots of good vibes my way. 

Side note: We are still as fully isolated as possible because of COVID-19. We're not eating out or doing takeout from restaurants. Nor are we having any visitors. For the time being please don't send food or flowers, just because we're "quarantining" anything that comes in the house for three days before we bring it all the way into the house. We have to be as careful as possible as we get ready to start this new treatment!

Sunday, June 7, 2020

What Comes Next

On May 4-5, I had my last Bendeka/Adcetris treatment. We had a PET scan on June 1st to figure out if the treatment had worked or not. We were hoping the scan would show no cancer. If that was the case, we hoped I would get 1-2 years cancer free before we had to consider more treatment. The Bendeka/Adcetris was never going to be a permanent solution, but we'd hoped it would be a temporary one and that my body would get some time to recover.

Sadly, that's not the case. The news isn't ALL bad, but it's not good news either. The cancer outside my lungs does appear to have cleared up entirely. No cancer in any of the places that Hodgkin's traditionally grows, like in my lymph nodes. Unfortunately, my lungs are a different story. A couple of the places that have been showing up on my scans are still showing up and one or two new places are showing up now too. They're small relative to my worst scan, but they're there. And the places that have been there all along have increased in SUV (intensity) too.

Dr. Essell, my oncologist, on a huge mural that greets us as we get off the elevator.
Before we rush into what will be a risky new treatment for me, we're going to do a bronchoscopy and biopsy a piece of my lung from one of the affected areas. If that biopsy shows Hodgkins (and we expect it will) then we'll move on to the risky new treatment. I'll need a clear COVID-19 test before the bronchoscopy, and I've already gone for that. We haven't gotten the results yet, but I expect it will be negative and the procedure will happen as planned late this week.

A bronchoscopy involves a pulmonologist snaking a tube down into my lung. The tube has a camera so he can look around. The tube will also (1) spray fluid into my lung then recollect the fluid for lab samples and (2) allow the doctor to take a lung biopsy. For those of you following along, you might remember that a lung biopsy from a bronchoscopy is how we initially rediagnosed my cancer this time around.

We assume that will again show the Hodgkin's lymphoma is in my lungs. We're out of any decent chemo options, so we're looking at immunotherapy now. Immunotherapy is a really exciting option for folks who have not had an allogeneic stem cell transplant (one using donor cells). If this immunotherapy option existed in 2011-2012, I likely never would have had a second transplant. It is a relatively easy treatment (compared to a transplant) and can send folks into remission for decades.

But I've already had a donor stem cell transplant and that complicates things. Now my immune system actually doesn't match up perfectly with my body. My immune system is a carbon copy of my donor's immune system, and although we matched very closely, that immune system doesn't always recognize my body as belonging to it. That's what causes graft versus host disease (GvH). My donor immune system (the "graft") doesn't recognize my eyes or the lining of my mouth, or occasionally my muscles (the "host") and the immune system attacks them. Thus all the eye drops and other creams, ointments, and issues.

So Immunotherapy stimulates a person's immune system. In my case though, it's stimulating my donor immune system, which already takes issue with my body. We run the risk of it dramatically stimulating my GvH also. If that happens, we'll discontinue the Immunotherapy and throw a bunch of steroids at whatever flares up. But it's risky. If we don't catch the GvH in time, the steroids might not be enough to stop it from attacking my body, possibly fatally.

Beyond the risks of Immunotherapy, we also don't have many options if Immunotherapy fails. It's potential benefits are amazing. Immunotherapy could eliminate my cancer for years... maybe even decades. But if it spikes my GvH out of control OR if it doesn't work for me, we don't have any further treatment options with much promise. We can try clinical trials or we could do more chemos, but neither offer much promise.

For now we're just hoping I can tolerate the Immunotherapy, that it doesn't overstimulate my GvH. and that it works. It would be amazing if it worked and I went into remission for a really long time. So fingers crossed guys. We need this one to work.

Wednesday, January 4, 2012

My $15,000+ Day... or Treatment Day 1

Yesterday was my first day of treatment. Everything went smoothly. Brynn arrived for her first day of school on time and without a hitch. I made it to my appointment almost on time. Despite having a minor infection we were still able to proceed with the first round of Adcetris.

The treatment itself started with pre-meds. Tylenol, Benadryl (to prevent an allergic reaction), a light steroid, and anti-nausea medication. The Benadryl knocked me out almost immediately. I fought my falling eyelids as hard as I could, but eventually had to tell my friend (who drove me to and from my appointment) that I was going to have to nap.

I did wake up long enough to joke with my nurse about giving me my new car. Unfortunately I wasn't really getting a new vehicle, just its cost equivalent in medication. It turns out that each of my treatments require 3 vials of Adcetris, and each vial markets for about $5,000. That means when he brought this tiny little bag in and plugged it into my IV, I began the process of absorbing $15,000 into my system.

Too bad it doesn't have a street value.
I can't complain though. It's been over 24 hours and I'm not experiencing any side effects. I did sleep for several hours yesterday, but that was just to wear off the Benadryl. I'm not nauseous, I don't feel cruddy, I'm still eating whatever I want. Actually, I feel pretty normal. We'll see over the next few days, but I'm feeling good about how my body is handling it so far.